Awesome Day #21: Thankful Thursday

I am thankful that I am who I am today and not who I was six years ago. And for my sister, Kerryan.

Last night, my ‘date’ and I ended up talking about our families and the contrast between siblings. The common factor was that both him and I are NOTHING like our siblings, he said oil and water, I refer to chalk and cheese. It reminded me that although this may be true for us, in this case blood is thicker than water.

My sister and I never grew up together and the only thing that we have in common is the fact that we both have kids. Boys. She has two, I have three. And I mean that. We are so very different and yet in all that we can still get along and where I once thought that she would judge who I was and where I came from, she never has and I am truly thankful for that. I take a HUGE lesson out of that attitude and I admire that quality in people. Having not grown up together I guess that I was actually the one to judge her for thinking she would judge me… I am so sorry for that my sis. I love you.

I remember the email that I typed you telling you just who I really was and what I had been through. Your reply melted my heart. I found comfort in MY big sister. Your words of encouragement. Words of pride at where I am now. Words of support. They meant so much to me. That took our sisterhood to a whole new level. A level that I love.

Always and forever, your little sister x

Leave a Reply

