Thankful Thursday: K.I.S.S

Replace the fire with a heater, add three more pillows and a piece of chocolate in place of the flower petals :)

I am thankful for my gorgeous little family and our everlasting memories that we build along the way!

Last night I was reminded that the K.I.S.S (Keep It Simple Silly) ‘rule’ can really bring such warmth and excitement to my little family.

I love a picnic and with the weather making a turn toward winter at a rapid rate who is to say that we cannot still enjoy an indoor picnic? The boys were being otherwise occupied and so I put the heater on, put blankets on the floor, set pillows as chairs and added a square of chocolate to each seat as a little added bonus.

By the time that dinner was actually ready they were starved *or are they always starved?* and a little moody because of it. So I gave them their cutlery and they took it upon themselves to have a seat at the dinner table… I left it at that… I could not wait to see their cute little faces when they realised that dinner was a little different last night. I asked them, with dinner plates in hand, to please follow me into their room for a surprise. They were noticeably grumpy about such requests when all that they wanted was to sit down and eat their food.

The set up that they saw when they switched on the light made it all worth while though and three smiling faces replaced the frowns as they moved the chocolate square and placed their cute little bums on the pillows… I was VERY surprised that not one of them ate the chocolate before their dinner, that was awesome. They have learnt to savour the good things in life and that makes me proud. We sat in a circle, in the warmth of their room and prayed and ate together as a family. There was laughing and chatting and then the joyous moment of indulging in the long-awaited chocolate.

We all had a very late night. And I know that it was a school night but sometimes life just needs that injection of love and bonding. And sometimes that means staying up late together and taking advantage of the extra cuddles and giggles. Sometimes that means the small things that make a big difference.

K.I.S.S – That about sums up our night together!!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. That is so incredibly beautiful… You can create these traditions with your boys and they’ll never forget it :-)

    Have a wonderful Easter
    xxx

    Much love, Bailey from Vanilla Blonde

  2. shannhermie says:

    Too precious for words! Love it!

    xxx x

Leave a Reply

