Do you believe in signs?

First of let me say that I am more spiratual than religious and I most certainly believe in a Higher Power.

I’m kind of a hypocrite on the above questions… when the signs are good I wholeheartedly believe in them yet when the signs are warning me of things that I am not ready for or that scare me a little, then I think that maybe I must be silly about it all. In the same paragraph I like to believe that there will not be any signs unless you are on some level of acceptance. You may shut it out for a while, turning a blind eye. But you know that it is something that you need to acknowledge and face up to.

Last week, I kept getting the same sign over and over. It came to me in the form of a quote:

“The Happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the best of everything they have.”

I kept getting this quote on email, Twitter, sms… you name it, I got it. And I believe that My Angels were trying to tell me just that. To be happy with what I have in my life and stop wanting more. Well not totally stop wanting otherwise I believe that you stunt your personal growth. I have been battling a lot these days and it scares me a little. I am trying so hard to claw my way out of the hole that I find myself in and just when I am near the light, the escape, I fall back down. Right to the bottom. Enclosed in darkness once more. I think that the most important thing for me is that although I fall, I keep on trying. I will never give up. I will fight for what I want in my life. I will get to where I want to be. It may take a of a lot longer than those around me but that’s ok. I have accepted that.

A lovely example of signs was in my novel that I just finished. Anna’s husband got tradgically killed while she survived the same accident. She begged for a sign that he was still with her. But she needed to go through the mourning process first. They say that it takes a full year of someone being dead before you actually accept it, before the path between your head and your heart communicates the same. You need to go through, Anniversaries, your birthday, their birthday, Christmas, New Year, death anniversary… so basically a complete life cycle of the most important things without the person by your side. That is when your head and your heart fully understand that they really are not coming back. All she wanted was a sign that her husband had passed on to a happier place and yet she never got it until she had been through the complete cycle of understanding that he was really gone.

One Comment Add yours

  1. shannhermie says:

    “I like to believe that there will not be any signs unless you are on some level of acceptance”

    So true! You won’t see them and/or believe them until you, yourself are ready.

    You’re doing great my Kooksie! Keep going!

    Love you :) xxx

Leave a Reply

