How do you make a difference?

This year has been somewhat crazy and yet so awesome. I have been surrounded with the most awesome people and have found a new love for life. There has been tragedy, that is part of life though and the quicker we accept and deal with that the easier the challenges and tragedy become.

There are two people that I would like to mention in this blog post, two amazing ladies that I have met in my journey called life:

The first one is Michelle. You have never met a sweeter, more gentle soul. I have not had the privilege of spending too much time with Michie but let me tell you that she is one of my dearest friends and I hope that our friendship will just get stronger as the time goes on. But I am not writing to mention what a great friend she is to me, I am writing to tell you the awesome work that she does, simply because she does it out of the goodness of her heart and it has inspired me. Michelle has a weekly newsletter that she circulates called ‘Care to Make a Difference’ and her slogan is ‘To inspire people to continuously show random acts of kindness to a world that needs it’ – now you tell me… how could you anything but love her? Included in the newsletter is a monthly group project, so far there have been the following three projects: Writing notes of comfort and encouragement to my sister and family as they face their ordeal, giving airtime to a couple whose family all lives far away so they hardly get to speak to each other on the phone due to financial restraints and the current project is donating to Angels Without Wings – with an entry into a raffle draw for everyone who donates. Now, to some people, these may seem like small things but let me tell you, that I was with my sister when she opened the cards that people had written and she was so grateful to know that there are so many people praying and supporting her and Greg, even though they have never met them. Imagine being given a lump sum of airtime and hearing your loved one’s voices after a long period of time? Imagine how these small acts of kindness impact on those who need them? Michelle is an angel and I am proud to call her my friend. If you would like to be on the mailing list, please get in touch with me and I will pass along your details. Making a difference once a week with your kind, caring  words.

The second lady is Bonni. Although we met in somewhat terrible circumstances, I felt drawn to her from the moment I saw her… and let me tell you, this lady is amazing. The thing that captures me is her smile, she seems to always have one no matter what, her bubbly personality and her drive to do good. Bonni heads up the Rainbows and Smiles NPO for children with Cancer. Having lost her own son, Jed, to brain cancer on 11 July 2011, she dives into the lives of parents, families, and children with cancer. She pours her heart and soul into every family that she meets. She bonds and loves each child. Bonni, you inspire me to do great things in life. It takes a lot of strength to do what you do, and only gifted people get that strength. I love how real you are, the way that you admit, yes, you have done grief counselling but you never allow that to stop you from crying your eyes out with families – that is heart warming. Jed truly matters and so do all his friends. Thank you for being a part of Greg’s journey. Thank you for being a friend to my sister. Thank you for everything that you have organised to raise funds, offer support and bring rainbows and smiles. You make such a difference in people’s lives.

When I started writing this, there were only two ladies that came to mind but while writing and just reflecting there is someone else that I want to mention, and that is my sister. Kerry and I only met when I was 11 and she was 16. She is my half sister but I never refer to her as that – she is my sister no matter which way you look at it. As you may or may not know, my nephew, Greg (9), Kerry’s oldest son was diagnosed with Synovial Sarcoma Soft Tissue Cancer earlier this year. I cannot imagine what it feels like to hear those words as a mother. This year our relationship has taken a different turn, part of that is Greg but there is more to it than that – that is a story for another day though. I wanted to mention my sister today as I have a new found love and respect for her. She is amazing and has dealt with the whole situation in such a way that is truly something to look up to. She is brave, courageous and determined. She is human and has emotions, so there are definitely good days and bad days. But for the most part, she displays a women of courage. And Greg feeds on that. My sister, and I think all of us, prepare for the worst  but boy we hold out for that miracle. And let me tell you, there are definite miracles happening right now. Kerry, I love you. Thank you for your kindness, patience and love that you have shown, not only to me but to everyone that you meet. You have made such a difference in my life and I am sure many people are inspired by your strength and courage that you show.

To everyone who reads my blog and has prayed, or continues to pray, for Greg – please never stop. God hears all our prayers and he is working hard at a miracle right now.

Leave a Reply

