A truth I live by {a writing prompt}

This topic has really got me thinking, I like that. I have lived by so many truths, mostly bad one’s… and the consequences of them have been no fun at all.

In May this year I decided to start going to Church, see what it was about, involve God in my life the way that He should be, the way that He intended to be, and it has been AMAZING. The strange thing for me is that there has been no adjustment really, or it has felt that way, but since joining the Church I have felt a fulfilment in my life and a hunger that I cannot explain. My boys have even changed and they are loving Sunday school, loving making new friends, loving home cell and I am loving watch them build a relationship with God, on their own level.

On September 16 2012 I publicly gave my life to The Lord in the form of baptism and it was powerful. I am loving the journey that I am on and the hunger that I have in my heart. I want this truth to remain strong, I want to instill this truth in my kids, the truth, for me, that Jesus is my Lord and Saviour.

Right now I am probably facing some of the biggest challenges in my life, on so many levels. But you know what? I have an inner peace, a knowing and hearing from God that this is right where I need to be, and that feels incredible. And despite what I face each day I feel blessed more than anything. Above the challenges, I know that God is walking with me and working on things in His time, oh how I have had to learn that the hard way.

I tried, for all my life, to do things my way, and God let me. He is a patient God. But now I am willing to listen, obey and surrender to what He wants for me, and the two journey’s just do not compare at all. Walking with the Lord is the best decision I have made in my life so far. I have been hearing from God about so many things and listening is so rewarding because that peace of knowing that I obeyed is amazing. I feel I need to mention that when I walked into my Church the first time I knew so many people from so many different paths of life that it was a sure sign that I was right where I needed to be, that blew me away.

And so I face each day with my new truth, and I start each day with this little mantra:

Good morning Jesus, I want you to be comfortable in me today

And that helps me to always keep Jesus with me and make him proud in everything that I do.

ellenstumbo.com

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ellen Stumbo says:

    I love it! Thank you for sharing this story with us.
    I think you are right, we believe so many lies, so we need to find the truths and hold on to them, and live by them.
    I love your mantra, what a great reminder!

  2. Debbie Norsworthy says:

    Welcome to the family! I am happy to be your sister in Christ and hear you accepted Jesus as your Savior. Praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

