C is for CANDICE

That would be me :)

First off I am a child of God. Then I am a daughter, mother, sister and friend.

I am sure that there are other roles that I have left out but we will get to that.

In 2012 I gave my life to Christ. I never, ever thought I would be where I am right now. I never pictured myself belonging to a Church, being commited to God. But you know what?  Right now, I would not change it for the world. My life has changed dramatically since May 2012 and I am loving each and every moment of it. I have a love and passion for Christ, for growing His Kingdom with all of my might. I am drawn further and further in by the fruits that I see in people’s lives around me. I feel loved, secure and ever so happy.

I am fortunate to have the best mother in the world – really. She is amazing. She is my mother but also my best friend. I know that I can tell my mom anything and everything. There is never any judgement and she will stand by me no matter what. Mom also happens to be someone that I can look up to – she is an amazing person with a determimnation and go-getter attitude. Ain’t nothing stoping her. SO proud of all that you are MOM!

Being a mother myself has taught me a whole lot about what my mother did for me when I was growing up. As I said, I always knew that I wanted to be a mother, so naturally I absolutely love this aspect of my life. I started young, had all three boys by age 22, and there was regret but now that I am older, and still single, I am so glad that I have my boys. I watch friends who are 30 and above freaking out because they have not met that special someone and they do not have kids.

My sister and I only met when I was in standard three. She is actually my half sister – we share a father but have different mothers. But to me, she is my sister. I guess that growing up in completely seperate life styles and with completely seperate ways *quietly* kept us apart for many years. There is a five year age gap between us, which is small now but when I was in high school my sister was already married and moved towns – and so we never really bonded. I was always drawn to my sister and her inner peace that she portrays. Slowly but surely we have formed an amazing bond – there are a few contributing factors. Honestly, I have the most amazing big sister ever. I know that I can tell her anything and she is so supportive, caring and non-judgemental. Kerry, I love you. Thanks for being the greatest big sister.

I would like to believe that I am a good friend. A friend that will go to the ends of the earth for those closest to me. I love each and every one of my friends and I love how diffderent each one is. I have the friend that has been  there since I was six. I have the crazy male one. I have the one’s that have not been around for long, and yet it feels like a lifetime. I have mommy friends, school friends, virtual friends, Church friends, friends that started out as neighbours and are now far from that and more like part of the family. I have friends from all walks of life and from all different cultures. And I love that each friend brings something different.

Obviousy there is a whole lot more to me that the above… but that is what came to mind when writing this post!!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Friends are so important- and it is nice to have all kinds of them! Glad you have your church, mommy, family…. and dare I say blog?!?! friends :)

    1. settoncrew says:

      Of course, Blog friends too :)

  2. Paula Kaye says:

    Isn’t it amazing how we don’t really understand our own mothers until we become one ourselves?
    http://paulasplace-paula.blogspot.com/

    1. settoncrew says:

      I often think of that.. How much I took my mother for granted. And I found that there was a certain cememnting of our relationship once I had kids of my own.

  3. Phat Tourist says:

    You are an awesome friend …and have been for most of my life ;) I think that makes you more like a sister! And whilst I’m thinking out aloud, do you know if it’s possible to legally adopt someone as your sister? I think we should do it ;) xxx x

    1. settoncrew says:

      Thanks my Kooksie. We should totally do that! How awesome. XxX

  4. Bhavya says:

    You’re one lucky person Candice. God give you all the happiness that you deserve :)

    1. settoncrew says:

      Thanks so much :)

Leave a Reply

