O is for OCEAN

 

Being born and bread in Cape Town, South Africa I have a fond love for the ocean and often wish I still lived close to it. I absolutely love that over powering ocean smell. When I was younger (and we had already moved to Gauteng, South Africa) we used to go to Cape Town for December holidays and one of the things that I remember was never believing we were there until you got hit with the strong ocean smell. I love the life style in Cape Town and  until recently had a strong desire to move back there.

Have you always lived where you are right now?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I have heard that Cape Town is stunning. What an experience and opportunity to get to visit or live there!! I live in Ca., but inland and missing the ocean terribly. I have to drive over fifty miles to get there!! However…when I was much younger, our family lived two blocks from the beach…Santa Monica, and as I grew older and we moved inland of course…Huntington Beach was my favorite hang out!! I would not live near the ocean now however, expensive and with all the earthquakes!! I don’t want to see a sea creature that close!! Ha Ha….Enjoyed your post very much and the smells of the ocean will always be with me…

    1. settoncrew says:

      Hi Sandy. I have to get in a plane to see the ocean – so sad. I also wouldn’t want to live close if there was danger of earthquakes – we are blessed in South Africa as we do not live with that fear.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Paula Kaye says:

    Oh how I love that smell too!

  3. Pete Denton says:

    Great photos, thanks for sharing. :)

    I’ve always lived in the same city in England. I do like to get to see the sea whenever I can. There is something calming about a body of water, be it lakes, river, sea or ocean.

Leave a Reply

