T is for TENACIOUS

Adjective

  1. Not readily letting go of, giving up, or separated from an object that one holds, a position, or a principle: “a tenacious grip”.
  2. Not easily dispelled or discouraged; persisting in existence or in a course of action: “a tenacious legend”.

Synonyms

Persistent – Tough – Stubborn – Obstinate

I have the tendency to slip into tenacious behaviour on certain things in my life and it can drive me up the wall. And then I get it under control, feel like I am finally making progress and then an event takes place and BOOM – back to *almost* square one. I know that I will never allow myself to completely slip back into it – or would I?  Oh please no – I could not live through this again.

I think that the trilogy that I just read might come out in these next few sentences, purely because there was so much in there that I recognised as my own behaviour and it was pretty scary and yet so beautiful.

I need to start keeping a journal again, keep track of the triggers – yes they should be clear after all this time, and they are, but perhaps if I see the pattern in black and white I can truly break it once and for all. Sigh. Sometimes like is so tricky. Sometimes I just wish that I had a little more control over things like this.

I think that being tenacious certainly can be a good thing – what is your opinion?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Paula Kaye says:

    I am pretty tenacious about a lot of things. My grandkids remind me of this often. I think it IS a good thing…most of the time

Leave a Reply

