V is for VULNERABLE

Sometimes in life I feel so vulnerable, physically and emotionally exposed. I feel judged by my past, my present and my future. And I know that I shouldn’t care what others think, this is my life, but sometimes the person doing the most judging is my very own inner critic.

Lord knows I try every day to fight that inner critic – if she had things her way life would be a whole lot worse than what it is right now. It is a constant war inside my head, every second, of ever day – and it is exhausting. That contant feeling of being attacked emotionally – the negative banter  that I try to keep at bay and yet there are days, when the darkness takes over, that I do not succeed at this. I guess it is true, ‘Practice makes perfect.’

Again, I need to journal the triggers for these vulnerable feelings, these bouts of attack that I allow to take place. And once the triggers are established, I need to work on cutting them out, stopping them before they start – easier said than done.

Random ramblings for letter ‘V’

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I feel that as women we tend to be our worst critics. Maybe we expect too much of ourselves. If we were to stand back and imagine the girl in the mirror was someone else, what then would we say?
    Great post.

    1. settoncrew says:

      I think you have hit the nail on the head :)
      Here is a great video that is doing the rounds:

      Two People Described The Same Person To A Forensic Artist And This Is What Happened

      http://www.upworthy.com/2-people-described-the-same-person-to-a-forensic-artist-and-this-is-what-happene?g=3

  2. It’s almost impossible to stop that negative voice, but one of my favorite combatants is music. I have two songs in particular that get me out of the slums:

    Now I’m listening to them and pumped up. Thanks!

    1. settoncrew says:

      What great songs, thanks so much for sharing Crystal. They have made me smile this morning :)

  3. Paula Kaye says:

    I think a lot of us in the blogging world feel vulnerable. Heck, life alone makes me feel vulnerable. Good post!

Leave a Reply

