Running {a writing prompt}

You can read about writing prompt here and Ellen Stumbo’s (the creator) post here.

I signed up to receive the weekly writing prompts a long while ago and sometimes I use them and sometimes I don’t. Since I haven’t blogged for so long, prior to April’s challenge, the latter hold’s more truth right now. When this week’s prompt of running landed in my inbox, well, I couldn’t resist.

Running is a new found passion in my life. I love solo running, just me and the road – silence at its best. I also love running with people as that creates motivation and drive when you feel you just can’t anymore. I used to look at these runners and think that they were mad, getting up before dawn and running to nowhere really, but once I started I got hooked and now I am one of those mad people getting up at 4am on a Sunday to do races.

About two week’s ago I committed to doing my first ever 15km road race. It took place yesterday and let’s just say that I have muscles in places I never knew of before, even my toes hurt – but it is that pain when you know that you have had a great workout – I am sure I have worked every single muscle possible. And I will be back, that’s for sure.

Yesterday we had the privilege of running with a lady by the name of Thelma Fouche. She is 79 years old, has completed Comrades 13 times in a row ( her PB was just over 8 hours) and she is still going strong. Thelma was pushing me to my limits and I am no where near 79, what an inspiration and an honour to have met her. I am telling you, if she didn’t push me, she would of beaten me by a long shot. I absolutely love the running community, people are so friendly and chatty along the route.

Long may this passion last.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ellen Stumbo says:

    I am not a runner! However, I keep thinking I need to become a runner and take Nina along with me. My husband, on the other hand (who was also not a runner) started running last year. Maybe some day I will join him. So glad you joined the prompt and congratulations in your running accomplishments! I am a Zumba instructor, so I like to think I am in shape, however, I KNOW I could not even run a mile if I tried right now!

  2. settoncrew says:

    Trust me, once you start you cannot stop – it is such an awesome thing :). I have always wanted to try Zumba, looks like so much fun.

Leave a Reply

