#Awesome Day #3: Family Traditions

Wikipedia defines family traditions like this:

Family tradition, is defined as aggregate of attitudes, ideas and ideals, and environment, which a person inherits from his/her parents and ancestors.

When I was growing up we never really had traditions as such, at least none that I can remember. Lately I have been thinking a lot about creating a family tradition that my boys can one day pass onto their own families. One that they will always remember and one that we can do together every night to bring us closer together.

Now, one of our traditions is ‘lounge camping’. It consists of moving beds into the lounge, having a junk food night, watching DVD’s and drinking hot chocolate. Obviously such nights are reserved for weekends (oh yes, they happen for an entire weekend) when we have nothing planned and can just have some quiet time together as a family. I love the look on the boys’ faces when I ask them to bring their beds through to the lounge – oh how they love a good lounge camp-out.

I was recently reading a trilogy by Colleen Hoover and one of the traditions that they have is called ‘Suck and Sweet’ – the more I read about it, the more I liked it and the more I thought it would really like to do it with my boys every night. So last night I gave it a go and they LOVED it, almost as much as me. Basically, you each get to say what was not so nice about your day (suck) and what was so nice about your day (sweet). It really made us think about our days and I think it also instills in them that it is OK to have not so nice things in your day, because ultimately the suck gets ruled out by the sweet. I also let them know that some days will be sweeter than others. Once we had all given our ‘Suck and Sweet’ it sparked conversation, I loved that – sitting around the dinner table chatting to my boys. So blessed.

Do you have any traditions in your family?

I just have to add this picture of us that we took last night :) so totally blessed to have these boys. Praise God.

IMG_20130604_202134

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh, what precious little ones…. sounds like a fun time camping…. and no mosquitoes!!!

    1. settoncrew says:

      Thanks :) the best form of camping :):)

  2. Paula Kaye says:

    I didn’t have traditions when I was growing up either. But I liked creating them for my boys and even more for my grandchildren now. They never go to bed at night without granny tucking them in (they are 13 and 15) and they will say “I love you a bushel and a peck” and I answer with “and a bottle full to the neck”.

    http://paulasplace-paula.blogspot.com/

    1. settoncrew says:

      That is so lovely Paula. Mine are still little but I tuck them in every night followed by many hugs and kisses and declerations of love – I hope that they will still let me do it when they are the age of your grandkids :)

Leave a Reply

