#Awesome Day #10: My Mother

I know there are a lot of people who say their mother is the best in the world but I am afraid you are all wrong. Unless you are the child of this lovely women, that is (she says  knowing full well that I am the only child):

I have been blessed with a Mum who has patience that are out of this world. She is determined, courageous and a true inspiration to me. I have always seen Mum as one that is not afraid to go for what she wants, stand up for what she believes in and fight for what is right. While she has a heart of gold, I wouldn’t like to be on her bad side – I think it is a pretty scary place. Don’t mess with her, or anyone she loves for that matter!

I have yet to meet someone with a heart as gentle (and HUGE) as my very own Mum. Although we had some rocky years growing up (I was a lovely teenager, haha) I think my true respect started for her when I myself became a mother. Suddenly you realise all the things that Mum’s have to do in order to raise kids. All the sacrifices, all the silence so that kids can be heard. My Mum was always the ‘cool Mum’ when I was at school – she packed the best lunches (I have friends that can vouch for this)- ever – included were little love notes, what a special thing to take time for. The one thing I always remember when I think back on my childhood is that Mum always had time for me, always! Time is the most valuable gift you can give your kids. She was (and still is) hip, happening and awesome.

Over the years my Mum has become my best friend, my confidant and my cheer leader of sorts. I know that I can go to her with anything and she will help me see the logic behind it, she will be honest with me if I am being irrational and she will support me until the end. Mum saved my life in 2004, I was angry with her at the time but I see it now, and now that I have kids of my own I know, without a shadow of doubt, that I would of acted exactly the same way. She acted out of love – while she was petrified and dying inside watching her daughter (me) destroy her life. Mum, I can only thank you for all you have done and continue to do on a daily basis.

And of course, Mum has the role of Granny too now. My boys are so blessed to have you and they love you so much!

Here is to you, Mum, thanks for always being awesome!!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Darla Dumler says:

    Your mother sounds wonderful. You truly are blessed.

    1. settoncrew says:

      She is so super wonderful – I count her as a blessing daily :)

  2. Paula Kaye says:

    What a beautiful tribute!

Leave a Reply

