#Awesome Day #11: Smoke free

Today marks ONE YEAR since I stopped smoking… this is the longest I have ever stopped for I can *almost* guarantee that I will never start again. While I havent’t felt many physical benefits really, I just cannot picture myself smoking anymore.

The strange thing is that since I have stopped my chest has been worse then ever. Perhaps it is getting rid of all the toxins? Who knows. I have not experienced the amazing taste of food that is supposed to follow but I definitely feel the pollution more and there are certain things that never bugged me before and now I cannot handle it. A strange example is olbas in a steamer – it instantly gives me a headache and I can feel my chest start closing. I also battle when I run distance, like my first 15km, my chest burns up quite badly. I hope that in time it will settle into this new healthy lifestyle.

And I must just mention that I don’t think I am one of those ex-smokers. I still allow people to smoke in my house (well in the kitchen anyway) and I am generally not bothered by smoke unless it is many people smoking in a closed environment.

Here is to the next year. Viva.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Paula Kaye says:

    I quit smoking in 1999 after having smoked for close to 30 years. It was the hardest thing I have ever done. I never realized ANY of all those wonderful benefits that I was promised either from no longer smoking. I have more money, but it just goes somewhere else. Food might taste better, I have certainly gotten fatter . The one thing that I did notice and that I still notice is that smoking stinks. People who smoke stink. I am glad that I no longer smell like that! Horrendous. I don’t let anyone smoke in my home anymore! But I will sit with them outside while they smoke

    1. settoncrew says:

      I have to agree with you on the stink – I notice it on my clothes if I have been around smokers.

  2. Coral says:

    Extremely pleased to read this post. :) Congrats. (P.S. The server is down at the site for Mama/Rainbow. Check back tomorrow. I’m sorry. )

    1. settoncrew says:

      Thanks :)
      Will definitely check back tomorrow for Mama/Rainbow – thanks.

  3. Patricia says:

    Huge congrats to you!! Re the chest congestion thing, my son quite and had the same problem but it appears to be calming down now. I know from experience that the taste thing and the real benefits take awhile to become evident. BUT I know it is well worth it!!!!! Keep up the good work.m

    1. settoncrew says:

      Thanks so much Patricia – good to know the chest will settle and the benefits are still to come :)

Leave a Reply

