Finding the Balance

On Monday morning I read this post over at Paula’s Place and it got me thinking about what image I create for my children. Let me add right from the start that I think this aspect of raising children is easier with boys, compared to girls. Somehow there is more pressure from society on girls and how they look.

I would like to believe that I have found the balance when it comes to health and fitness in our lives, I say our because, even though the boys are young they take part in races already – willingly, of course. I have always loved a long walk and began walking with the boys from a very young age so I guess they have developed the same love for it that I have. And I love supporting a good cause when the opportunity arises. In all truth, I think that they only take part in the races because they get medals and awesome goodie bags but either way they get excited for them. They have also decided that when they are old enough we have to do IRONMAN as a family – this came about as a friend, Ralf, does Ironman, and the boys look up to him and cheer him on. Thanks Ralf-ie… best I prepare for the race of a lifetime.

The other day Dylan and I were chatting, it went a little something like this:

Dylan: ‘I think we should try walk 200km.’

Mom: ‘I don’t think something like that actually exists.’

Dylan: ‘Well then, when I am bigger, I will invent it and we can do it. It will be so much fun.’

I love how ambitious he is. HaaHaa. I think I should be afraid. The boy has high hopes and expectations.

Now here is where the balance comes in, well for us anyway. While we like being outdoors and fit and healthy, we also love junk food and to me, once in a while, that is not a bad thing. While I want my boys to look after their appearance and maintain an active lifestyle, I don’t want them to be obsessed with it and therefore have a bad relationship with food. I want them to have balance. In all areas of life really.

Do you have any tips on creating balance?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Joe Owens says:

    Candice it is something everyone thinks and grapples with their whole life. The competing food lobby easily overwhelms the fitness camp with their message and packaging. We have to consciously chose to be healthy and fit.

  2. settoncrew says:

    That is it right there, it is a choice – and I just hope they make the right choices. Thanks for reading and commenting Joe :)

  3. That is an adorable Mom Son conversation… I remember a similar conversation I had with my mom. I was going to invent a never ending song and the world would HAVE to sing it. To answer your question… balance… don’t over think it. Maybe set out the weekend/or second weekend for junk food. Boys are lucky… they can get away with more than girls can.

    1. settoncrew says:

      That is so sweet that you remember that – I don’t remember many conversations from when I was younger, I know I was convinced I would be a ballerina but I gave up dancing for stubborn reasons and so that dream never became. Boys definitely have it easier in many ways.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

