Family Devotions

As a new-ish Christian I have been trying to find my feet and direction in terms of the boys. How to guide them without forcing them into anything. How to lay a solid foundation, but giving them freedom of choice at the same time.

I am pleased to say that as of this morning we have started The One Year Book of Josh McDowell’s Family Devotions: A Daily Devotional for Passing Biblical Values to the Next Generation. Granted it is only day one but I found that it is easy enough for the boys (Dylan, 7 – Jason and Grant, *almost* 6) to understand. They were also quite keen to share their stories and experiences – I love that they are comfortable (and confident) enough to speak up about their ‘stuff’, I hope that this will remain well into their adult lives. Each day has a Bible Verse related to the topic, then a story around the topic, a discussion section and a prayer. I am looking forward to having the time together as a family and growing in Christ together at the same time. Ultimately they will make their own decision about what they believe but I do know that I want to expose them to the Bible, make them think about their choices (and consequences), and in the process build morals in them that will honour God.

The boys know that I spend a lot of time reading the Bible and praying, but I don’t force them to do the same. If they ask me to read the Bible then we do, if they would rather read ‘Robin Hood’ then that is ok too. I pray for us as a family and if they want to add their own little prayer that is great, if not, then I allow them to just be a part of my prayer. I think a lot of this comes from my own experience growing up. I was an all-time rebel – I kicked against any system I could. If there were rules, I set out to break them. While I pray my boys will be nothing like that, I also don’t want them to ever feel that they have to read the Bible and pray, I want them to want to read the Bible and pray – not do it because I forced them to – hope that makes sense. Friday brain is in full swing… especially with the fun-filled weekend I have ahead of me.

That’s my bit for the day – hope you all have an amazing weekend ahead.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Joe Owens says:

    Our most fervent prayers were for our children’s salvation. RIght now I am trying hard to mentor my son by being the father, husband and man of God described within the pages of the Holy Bible. I want him to know what is expected of him when he gets to that point. He is expected to be the spiritual head of his home and be the leader I try to be to him.

    1. settoncrew says:

      I certainly pray for their salvation and try to lead by example, as you mention. Parenting sure is a challenge a day. But the blessing far outweighs any challenge faced.

Leave a Reply

