S U R P R I S E

I love the element of surprises – mostly giving them – although this year I discovered being on the receiving end of surprises is also pretty fun – you can read about that over here.

Last night we had a surprise dinner for Di at my place – six adults, four kids. Can you say FULL house? But it was oh so worth it! Today is her birthday and without getting personal, she has been having a hard time in life and so I decided to arrange this dinner in order to spoil her a bit and remind her of the love that surrounds her right now.

In February 2008 I knocked on Di’s door for the first time. It was around the time I became a single mom and I just wanted someone in my apartment block to know that I was on my own with the three boys, I wanted the security of having a contact number in case something went wrong. Little did I know where that knock would lead, but let me not get ahead of myself.

One night I ran out of formula and PnP was closing in 15 minutes… there was no way I was making it with three kids in tow – queue second knock on Di’s door. I asked if she would mind watching Jason and Grant (about five months old) while Dylan (2 years old) and I ran to PnP before they closed. Di, with her massive heart, opened her home and watched the boys for me. And let me mention that by the time I got back, Di was holding both babies trying to console them as they cried from hunger – not an easy thing when you are not used to one baby, let alone two.

That was a definite starting point to a beautiful friendship that has formed over the past five years. Whenever we arrived home Dylan would turn left out the elevator towards Di’s house – never going home first but always visiting ‘Uhhnn’, who then become ‘Di’ and then ‘Di-Di’. I have loved sharing this journey of life and motherhood with a lady that I have immense respect and love for. A sister in Christ, a second mother to me, a ‘grandmother’ to my boys and an absolutely amazing friend that would move heaven and earth for those she loves. And I look forward to the many years ahead that are still to come.

Now, you know sometimes in life you just really get a person? Well, I just get Di. I speak Di and I have always said that there needs to be a ‘Di-Allen Show’ – you know, like The Truman Show, because honestly, the lady cracks me up. And she tells amazing stories. Story times with Di will have you glued to your seat not wanting to miss a thing. I have started working on my speech for the next big birthday – this includes documenting all the hysteria as life goes on. Oh I have so many stories and absolutely love looking back over them.

Di – you are amazing. Never forget that. Looking at your life I am honoured to call you my friend. On this day, your day of birth, I hope that you will reflect over the wonderful person that you are and smile and laugh a lot. You are God’s favourite and He smiles upon you. I know that we don’t see as much of each other as we used to but please know that you are always in my heart, every single day.

To you. Love me.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. cupcakemummy says:

    now that’s the kind of friend you need in your life x glad you have Di! she sounds amazing

  2. diane allen says:

    a memory that I will cherish forever. Thanks cupcakemummy, I hear you are quite amazing too :)

  3. Lisa says:

    How sweet! Your are so blessed to have a wonderful friend like that!

  4. Paula says:

    You are very blessed to have her in your life. But I suspect that you are just as big a blessing to her!

  5. Patricia says:

    What a great thing to say and to do…..

Leave a Reply

