Truth

Some things in life are easier than others, to admit and undertake. Motherhood falls into both of these categories for me, on most days.

For a long while I have noticed that my one son, I won’t single him out, has a habit of telling lies – or omitting the truth. It started small (as most things do) and then it started becoming worse and worse. It got to the point where he told his teacher a major lie and I felt defeated as a mother… What was I doing wrong that was causing this behaviour? I’m sure we all have those days of questioning.

So I sat down with said son and we chatted, briefly, but a chat none-the-less. I explained what it means to lie and what the Bible says about lying. It was short and sweet. And each time I ‘caught’ him, I gently reminded him of these lessons.

Fast forward to tonight. We were getting ready for bed and the boys requested I read to them from their awesome new books they got from my sister. Said precious and gorgeous son had a further request, ‘Mom, please can you read the stories about telling the truth?’

Oh, I have tears of pride. The boy is learning. The seed is planted and he is on his way to walking in all God has for him. I feel it in my soul. So super proud that he had an open heart and a willing ear. God is so good. And faithful. Thank you Jesus for the restoration that is taking place in my son as he learns that in truth we are set free.

With a happy heart I say, ‘Good night’.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Patricia says:

    Don’t forget to give a lot of credit to the dear boy’s mother for doing the right thing….. we ( as parents) are too hard on ourselves. I now have the benefit of hindsight so it is more clear (to me) that you are a good parent. ;-)

  2. Ag shame that’s wonderful!! God’s Word always restores xx

  3. Shelly says:

    Loved this! What a beautiful spiritual legacy you are leaving your children. Be blessed today and bless someone else!

Leave a Reply

